Family Maison of the Martin family

In November 1877, shortly after Madame Martin's death in Alençon, the family settled in Lisieux and became a tenant of the Maison des Buissonnets located a little outside the city, on the road to Pont-l'Evêque, in the alley “Chemin du Paradis”. Thérèse spent eleven years of her life there until she entered Carmel.

Rented by Louis martin, the house of Buissonnets was acquired in 1909 by the cousin of Thérèse who lodged successive tenants there, often devoted to the cause of the young Carmelite. From 1911, the house became a place of pilgrimage. In 1931 the Buissonnets were entrusted to the Oblates of Sainte-Thérèse. The sisters welcome visitors, pilgrims and tourists every day. Donations from visitors help maintain the garden and the house.

The first impression that seizes the pilgrim, when he enters Les Buissonnets, is an impression of calm. In this peaceful setting, he spontaneously imagines Thérèse happy to live, surrounded by the affection of her father and of his four sisters.

Thérèse explains herself, recounting her childhood memories: “It was with pleasure that I came to Lisieux… to Les Buissonnets, that's where my life was truly happy”.
But let us not forget all the same that she qualified this part of her life which goes from four and a half to fourteen years, as "the most painful period of my existence".

It is, in fact, at Les Buissonnets that she experienced the entrance to the the Carmel of her two older sisters who had played the role of second mother to her after the death of Madame Martin.

The fact remains that this house surrounded by trees was little Thérèse's "sweet childhood nest" and that visiting the different rooms allows us to imagine some episodes from her childhood and adolescence:


In order to preserve the place sustainably and to always better welcome you, the Maison des Buissonnets is closed from 5 fFebruary to early March for a technical maintenance intervention. We apologize for the inconvenience. An 11-minute film presenting the locations will be available on request at the Saint John Paul II Welcome Center opposite the Basilica. We hope to see you again soon. The Sanctuary team remains at your disposal, thank you for your understanding.

Contact

22 Buissonnets Road

14100 Lisieux

E-mail : info@therese-de-lisieux.com

02 31 48 55 08

Les Buissonnets

Maison familiale de la famille Martin

En novembre 1877, peu après le décès de Madame Martin à Alençon, la famille s’installe à Lisieux et devient locataire de la maison des Buissonnets située un peu en dehors de la ville, sur la route de Pont-l’Evêque, dans la ruelle «Chemin du Paradis». Thérèse y passera onze ans de sa vie jusqu’à son entrée au Carmel.

Louée par Louis Martin, la maison des Buissonnets fut acquise en 1909 par le cousin de Thérèse qui y logea des locataires successifs, souvent dévoués à la cause de la jeune carmélite. A partir de 1911, la maison devint lieu de pèlerinage. En 1931 les Buissonnets sont confiés aux Oblates de Sainte-Thérèse. Les sœurs accueillent les visiteurs, pèlerins et touristes tous les jours. Les dons des visiteurs permettent l’entretien du jardin et de la maison.

La première impression qui s’empare du pèlerin, quand il entre aux Buissonnets, est une impression de calme. Dans ce cadre paisible, il se représente spontanément une Thérèse heureuse de vivre, entourée de l’affection de son père et de ses quatre sœurs.

Thérèse explique elle-même, en racontant ses souvenirs d’enfance : «Ce fut avec plaisir que je vins à Lisieux…aux Buissonnets, c’est là que ma vie était véritablement heureuse » .
Mais n’oublions pas tout de même qu’elle a qualifiée cette partie de sa vie qui va de quatre ans et demi à quatorze ans, comme « la période la plus douloureuse de mon existence ».

C’est, en effet, aux Buissonnets qu’elle a vécu l’entrée au Carmel de ses deux grandes sœurs qui avaient joué auprès d’elle le rôle de seconde maman après la mort de Madame Martin.

Il n’en reste pas moins que cette demeure entourée d’arbres, fut le « doux nid d’enfance » de la petite Thérèse et que la visite des différentes pièces nous permet d’imaginer quelques épisodes de son enfance et de son adolescence :


Horaires d’ouverture de la maison :

Du lundi au samedi de 10h à 12h30 et de 13h30 à 18h

Le dimanche de 13h30 à 18h

Fermeture : de mi-novembre à mi-décembre, le 25 décembre et le 1er janvier

Contact

Email : info@therese-de-lisieux.com

Tél. : 02 31 48 55 08

 MERCI D’ANNONCER LA VENUE DE VOTRE GROUPE PAR TÉLÉPHONE POUR UNE MEILLEURE ORGANISATION DE VOTRE VISITE

Les Buissonnets