Chapelle du Carmel

World famous because Saint Thérèse of the Child Jesus and the Holy Face lived there his life as a Carmelite from 1888 until his death in 1897, he is part of the Order of Carmel, which is spread all over the world. In France, 77 communities of sisters bring together around 1200 Carmelites; 9 convents of Brothers number around 75 Carmelites. Each year, around 150 pilgrims discover or rediscover outdoor spaces. Guided tours in several languages ​​are offered by the Sanctuary reception service.
The Carmel of Lisieux is not a museum, but the place of life, silence, prayer of a community, which explains why the interior cannot be visited. The major places have remained intact (the boiler room, the refectory, the chapter room, Thérèse's last cell and of course the infirmary…). A virtual tour of these places is offered on the Carmel site.

History of Carmel

The Carmel of Lisieux chapel was built in the 1840s, and enlarged in 1923 to accommodate relics of Saint Teresa during her Beatification, and to respond to the influx of pilgrims coming to pray and venerate her. A room with memorabilia and a new sacristy for priests completed the ensemble.
The chapel has undergone alterations on several occasions. In particular, in 1969, following the liturgical reform requested by the Second Vatican Council, work which ended in 1973.
In 1997, in the spirit of the centenary of the death of Saint Thérèse and the declaration of Thérèse “Doctor of the Church”, the Carmelite community reflected on its future and decided to provide itself with places of life more suited to the needs of people. modern times which were realized in 2002. The historic part of the monastery thus preserves intact the trace of Saint Thérèse in these places where she lived, prayed (cell, infirmary where Thérèse died, etc.) while housing the workshops of sisters.
In 2006-2008 the Carmelites renovated the spaces dedicated to visitors. The layout of the Chapel favors a space of silence for prayer and participation in the liturgy of the sisters. Pilgrims can gather at the Shrine of Thérèse which contains her relics. (A Shrine is a chest in which the relics of a saint are kept.)

Shrine of Saint Thérèse in Carmel

History of the Martin family

Three times Louis Martin took one of his daughters to Carmel: Pauline in 1882, Marie in 1884 and Thérèse in 1888. Céline entered Carmel after Louis' death in 1894. Léonie joined the Visitation of Caen in 1899.
For Thérèse, who is only 15, needs special permission, and Louis spares no effort. He supports his youngest, leading her first to Bayeux to see the bishop and then to Rome where Thérèse tries to obtain permission from the Pope himself.
The tomb of Saint Teresa is in the chapel. An exhibition space retraces the life of Thérèse in Carmel and her influence in the world.

Here is how Thérèse relates her first impressions upon entering the monastery on April 9, 1888:

«everything seemed lovely to me, I thought I was transported to a desert, our little cell especially charmed me, but the joy I felt was calm, the lightest zephyr did not make the calm waters ripple on which my little basket was sailing, no clouds were born. 'darkened my azure sky… ah! I was fully rewarded for all my trials… With what deep joy I repeated these words: “It is forever, always that I am here!…” »

Manuscript A 69 v °
Carmel de Lisieux
Carmel of Lisieux

Memorial

The Memorial “Thérèse her life in the Carmel, her message, her influence” is located in the courtyard of the Chapel of Carmel.

Intended for everyone, visitors and pilgrims, it wants to present Thérèse and make the essentials of her message known by making people want to read her writings.

In October 2011, the Carmelites of Lisieux, supported by the association of “Friends of Saint Thérèse and Carmel of Lisieux” undertook the overhaul of the museum trail (Memorial) located to the left of the Carmelite chapel. It will be inaugurated in February 2015.
It is made up of three areas: a general presentation, the life in the Carmel, and the gallery of exvotos.
In the first space, Thérèse de Lisieux welcomes us by affirming “I am your sister, your friend”. Visitors can discover the geographic, family and historical roots of Thérèse Martin. Then a showcase allows you to discover the Order of Carmel of which Thérèse is only one link: from the foundation in the 1838th century to the present day, through the reform of Thérèse d'Avila in the XNUMXth century and the founding of the Carmel of Lisieux in XNUMX. The following showcase is dedicated to the name of Thérèse: Thérèse of the Child Jesus of the Holy Face.
The Story of a Soul and the various writings of Thérèse are then presented there, because it is with these publications that the “hurricane of glory” begins. The little way of trust and love and its solicitude for all human and spiritual distress is diffused in the world.

This first space is extended by the cross of the cemetery on which we can see the prayers written by the pilgrims. It ends with an evocation of the representations and the glory of Thérèse.

In the second space, “Au Carmel”, we enter through the door of Thérèse's 1st cell, treading the tiled floor on which she stepped. We discover life in Carmel in the time of Thérèse and various objects that she used. A film takes us into his last cell. Other films show us the Carmelite life of today, the testimony of which remains very much alive.

"Our little cell especially charmed me"

Saint Therese

To see the location of Thérèse's first cell and other photos of Carmel in Thérèse's time, consult the magnificent archives site.

A third space allows you to discover the gallery of exvotos, the model of the Carmelite in the time of Thérèse as well as a diverse presentation of her coat of arms and their messages.

37 rue du Carmel, 14100 Lisieux

Duration: opening

Chapel and Shrine:

Tuesday to Saturday from 7 a.m. to 19 p.m.

Sundays, Mondays and public holidays from 7:45 a.m. to 19 p.m. (18 p.m. from November 30 to March 1)

Masses

in Week : 8h11 p.m. (with the Carmelites)

Sunday : 9 a.m. - 11:15 a.m. (with the Carmelites)

NB 8h (at the Hermitage chapel)

Memorial: 9 a.m. - 18 p.m.

Carmel Bookstore: 9 am-13pm and 14 pm-18pm

Pilgrimage 

If you wish to come on a pilgrimage, it is preferable to contact the “Pastoral-Accueil” Service of the Sanctuary, 31 rue du Carmel in Lisieux.

Phone. : (00 33) (0) 2 31 48 55 08

E-mail: info@therese-de-lisieux.com

Created under the influence of the Carmel of Lisieux, the Central Office of Lisieux has been responsible since 1923 (year of the beatification of Sister Thérèse by Pope Pius XI) to disseminate the message of Saint Thérèse of the Child Jesus, through the book and the object. On this site, you will find everything you need to discover or get to know better “the greatest saint of modern times” that the Church gives us as Doctor, Saint Teresa of the Child Jesus and of the Holy Face. In particular, you will find a wide choice of books, in all areas of religion, to deepen your faith, but also monastic products whose sale allows monks and nuns to live on, as well as a wide range of articles.

Click on the following link to access the website and order online: Thérèse de Lisieux Bookstore

Masses

8h
from monday to saturday
9h
Sunday
11 p.m.
everyday

the Carmel

Chapelle du Carmel

Mondialement connu car Sainte Thérèse de l’Enfant-Jésus et de la Sainte-Face y a vécu sa vie de carmélite de 1888 jusqu’à sa mort en 1897, il fait partie de l’Ordre du Carmel, répandu dans le monde entier. En France, 77 communautés de sœurs rassemblent environ 1200 carmélites ; 9 couvents de Frères comptent environ 75 carmes. Chaque année, environ 150 000 pèlerins découvrent ou redécouvrent les espaces extérieurs. Des visites guidées en plusieurs langues sont proposées par le service Accueil du Sanctuaire.
Le Carmel de Lisieux n’est pas un musée, mais le lieu de vie, de silence, de prière d’une communauté, ce qui explique que l’intérieur n’est pas visitable. Les lieux majeurs sont demeurés intacts (le chauffoir, le réfectoire, la salle du chapitre, la dernière cellule de Thérèse et bien sûr l’infirmerie…). Une visite virtuelle de ces lieux est proposée sur le site du Carmel.

Histoire du Carmel

La chapelle du Carmel de Lisieux est construite dans les années 1840, et agrandie en 1923 pour accueillir les reliques de sainte Thérèse lors de sa Béatification, et pour répondre à l’afflux des pèlerins venant la prier et la vénérer. Une salle regroupant des objets-souvenirs et une nouvelle sacristie pour les prêtres complétaient l’ensemble.
La chapelle a subi des transformations à plusieurs reprises. En particulier, en 1969, suite à la réforme liturgique demandée par le Concile Vatican II, travaux qui se terminèrent en 1973.
En 1997, dans l’élan suscité par le centenaire de la mort de Sainte Thérèse et la déclaration de Thérèse « Docteur de l’Église », la communauté des carmélites réfléchit à son avenir et décide de se doter de lieux de vie plus adaptés aux temps modernes qui sont réalisés en 2002. La partie historique du monastère conserve ainsi intacte la trace de sainte Thérèse en ces lieux où elle a vécu, prié (cellule, infirmerie où Thérèse est morte, etc.) tout en abritant les ateliers de travail des sœurs.
En 2006-2008 les carmélites rénovent les espaces dédiés aux visiteurs. L’aménagement de la Chapelle favorise un espace de silence pour la prière et la participation à la liturgie des sœurs. Les pèlerins peuvent se recueillir auprès du gisant de Thérèse qui contient ses reliques.

Histoire de la famille Martin

Par trois fois Louis Martin conduit une de ses filles au Carmel : Pauline en 1882, Marie en 1884 et Thérèse en 1888. Céline entre au Carmel après la mort de Louis en 1894. Léonie entre à la Visitation de Caen en 1899.
Pour Thérèse, qui n’a que 15 ans, il faut une permission spéciale, et Louis ne ménage pas ses efforts. Il soutient sa benjamine, la menant d’abord à Bayeux voir l’évêque et ensuite à Rome où Thérèse essaie d’obtenir la permission du Pape lui-même.
Le tombeau de sainte Thérèse se trouve dans la chapelle. Un espace d’exposition retrace la vie de Thérèse au Carmel et son rayonnement dans le monde.

Voici comment Thérèse relate ses premières impressions à son entrée au monastère, le 9 avril 1888 :

«tout me semblait ravissant, je me croyais transportée dans un désert, notre petite cellule surtout me charmait, mais la joie que je ressentais était calme, le plus léger zéphyr ne faisait pas onduler les eaux tranquilles sur lesquelles voguait ma petite nacelle, aucun nuage n’obscurcissait mon ciel d’azur… ah ! J’étais pleinement récompensée de toutes mes épreuves… Avec quelle joie profonde je répétais ces paroles : “C’est pour toujours, toujours que je suis ici !…” »

Manuscrit A 69 v°
Carmel de Lisieux
Carmel de Lisieux

Mémorial

Le Mémorial « Thérèse sa vie au carmel, son message, son rayonnement » se situe dans la cour de la Chapelle du Carmel.
Prévu pour tous, visiteurs et pèlerins, il veut présenter Thérèse et faire connaître l’essentiel de son message en donnant le goût de lire ses écrits.

En octobre 2011, les carmélites de Lisieux, soutenues par l’association des « Amis de sainte Thérèse et du Carmel de Lisieux » entreprennent la refonte du parcours muséographique (Mémorial) situé à gauche de la chapelle du Carmel. Il sera inauguré en février 2015.
Il se compose de trois espaces : une présentation générale, la vie au carmel et la galerie des exvotos.
Dans le premier espace Thérèse de Lisieux nous accueille en affirmant « Je suis ta sœur, ton amie ». Le visiteur peut découvrir l’enracinement géographique, familial et historique de Thérèse Martin. Puis une vitrine permet de découvrir l’Ordre du Carmel dont Thérèse n’est qu’un maillon : de la fondation au XIIIe siècle à nos jours, en passant par la réforme de Thérèse d’Avila au XVIe siècle et la fondation du carmel de Lisieux en 1838. La vitrine suivante est consacrée au nom de Thérèse : Thérèse de l’Enfant Jésus de la Sainte Face.
Y sont présentés ensuite l’Histoire d’une âme et les divers écrits de Thérèse, car c’est avec ces publications que s’enclenche l’« ouragan de gloire ». La petite voie de confiance et d’amour et sa sollicitude pour toutes les détresses humaines et spirituelles sont diffusées dans le monde.

Ce premier espace se prolonge par la Croix du cimetière sur laquelle nous pouvons voir les prières écrites par les pèlerins. Il s’achève par une évocation des représentations et de la gloire de Thérèse.

Dans le deuxième espace, « Au Carmel », nous entrons par la porte de la 1ère cellule de Thérèse, foulant le carrelage sur lequel elle a marché. Nous découvrons la vie au Carmel du temps de Thérèse et divers objets qu’elle a utilisé. Un film nous fait entrer dans sa dernière cellule. D’autres films nous montrent la vie carmélitaine d’aujourd’hui dont le témoignage demeure bien vivant.

« Notre petite cellule surtout me charmait »

Sainte Thérèse

Pour voir l’emplacement de la première cellule de Thérèse et d’autres photos du Carmel au temps de Thérèse, consultez le magnifique site des archives.

Un troisième espace permet de découvrir la galerie des exvotos, la maquette du carmel au temps de Thérèse ainsi qu’une présentation diversifiée de ses armoiries et de leurs messages.

Horaires

Chapelle et Châsse : 7h15-18h30

(18h30 du 1er novembre au 15 mars)

Messes

en semaine : 8h – 9h – 11h15

dimanche : 9h – 11h15 (avec les carmélites)

N.B. 8h (à la chapelle de l’Ermitage)

Mémorial : 9h – 18h30

Librairie du Carmel : 9h-13h et 14h-18h

Pèlerinage 

Si vous désirez venir en pèlerinage, il est préférable de prendre contact avec le Service « Pastoral-Accueil » du Sanctuaire, 31 rue du Carmel à Lisieux

Tel. : (00 33) (0)2 31 48 55 08

E-mail : info@therese-de-lisieux.com

Créé sous l’influence du Carmel de Lisieux, l’Office Central de Lisieux est chargé depuis 1923 (année de la béatification de Sœur Thérèse par le pape Pie XI) de diffuser le message de sainte Thérèse de l’Enfant-Jésus, à travers le livre et l’objet. Sur ce site, vous trouverez tout ce qu’il vous faut pour découvrir ou mieux connaître « la plus grande sainte des temps modernes » que l’Église nous donne pour Docteur, Sainte Thérèse de l’Enfant Jésus et de la Sainte Face. Vous y trouverez notamment un large choix de livres, dans tous les domaines du religieux, pour approfondir votre foi, mais également des produits monastiques dont la vente permet de faire vivre moines et moniales ainsi qu’une large gamme d’articles.

Cliquez sur le lien suivant pour accéder au site internet et commander en ligne : Librairie Thérèse de Lisieux

Messes

8h
9h
11h15

Carmel