The idea of ​​erecting a basilica in Lisieux in honor of the one who had just been canonized in 1925, encountered many opposition from the local clergy. The city already had many religious buildings; it was also estimated that the cult of Thérèse, favored by the piety of the hairy during the war of 1914-1918, would only have a short time.

These objections did not stop the then bishop, Monsignor Lemonnier. As early as 1925, he commissioned an architect from Paris to draw up a preliminary draft. But the proposed building aroused many criticisms; Abroad, in particular, the proportions were cramped and it was felt that, for the most beloved Saint in the world, the most beautiful basilica possible was needed.

A new project was then requested from an architect from the north of France, Mr. Louis-Marie Cordonnier, whose reputation was international.

Pope Pius XI, who had canonized Therese on May 17, 1925, considered her to be the Star of his pontificate. He strongly desired the construction of a sanctuary in Lisieux. This desire of the Pope helped to reduce local opposition, and on September 21, 1927, Bishop Lemonnier approved the Cordonnier plan. Bishop Suhard, who was to succeed Bishop Lemonnier a few months later, did not reverse his predecessor's decision, and the first works began in 1929.

Opening of the Basilica

  • from November 1 to March 31: 9:30 a.m. to 17:30 p.m.
  • from April 1 to August 31: 9:30 a.m. to 19 p.m.
  • from September 1 to October 31: 9:30 a.m. to 18 p.m.

Saint John Paul II Center

  • November to March: 9:30 am-17:15pm
  • April to June then September and October: 10 am-18pm
  • July and August: 10 am-18pm
Panoramic view of the basilica

On September 30, 1929, the work was sufficiently advanced for the first stone of the building to be laid. From then on, the basilica was being built at an accelerated pace.

In November 1929, Pius XI informed Mgr Suhard that it was necessary to “do very big, very beautiful, and as quickly as possible! "

  • total area: 4 m500
  • dome height: 90 m
  • length of the basilica: 104 m

On July 11, 1937, at the end of the Eleventh National Eucharistic Congress, Cardinal Pacelli, future Pope Pius XII, proceeded to the solemn blessing of the basilica.

The basilica suffered little from the bombardments of June 1944, and the completion works (stained glass and mosaics) continued until July 11, 1954, when the consecration of the sanctuary took place by Mgr Martin, archbishop of Rouen, under the presidency of Cardinal Feltin, Pope's legate

The Upper Basilica

On busy days, 3 pilgrims can take their places on the benches of the basilica and easily follow the ceremonies that take place in the sanctuary: no column can stop the gaze.

On other days, pilgrims like to linger on the mosaics and stained glass that were made in the workshops of Pierre Gaudin (1908-1973), an artist trained in the workshops of sacred art directed by Maurice Denis and Georges Desvallières. At their school, Pierre Gaudin rediscovered the great tradition of the master glassmakers of the Middle Ages: playing with the color of the stained-glass windows to create a light that favors contemplation ... All that is required is that there is a little sunlight for the stained-glass windows of Pierre Gaudin give the basilica a particularly warm atmosphere. Nevertheless, under the influence of Abbé Germain, first rector of the sanctuary, the artist did not give in to his attraction for abstract art: without turning his stained glass windows into glass paintings (like the glassmakers of the XNUMXth century), he designed a figurative project, thus giving all pilgrims the opportunity to discover, through his work, the essence of Thérèse's message.

The Lower Basilica or crypt

La crypt is completely covered with marble and mosaics.

In 1958, the decoration was completed with the installation of five mosaics representing the important stages in Thérèse's life: the baptism of Marie Françoise Thérèse Martin at the Notre-Dame d'Alençon church, on January 4, 1873; the first communion of Thérèse at the Benedictine abbey of Lisieux, on May 8, 1884; the miraculous healing of Thérèse at Les Buissonnets on the feast of Pentecost, May 13, 1883; the profession of Thérèse, September 8, 1890; the death of Thérèse on September 30, 1897.

The crypt houses the reliquary of Saints Louis and Zélie Martin, parents of Saint Thérèse.

Crypte 2

The chapel of adoration

If a church is made for participation in the liturgy, it is also made for meditation. The worship chapel whose access is through the crypt, allows you to pray in silence and peace.

  • The right wall is that of the crypt, the granite arches of which remind us that we are still in the Basilica;
  • The benches are those that were known in the past in the chapel of Carmel;
  • The altar is cut on the same model as that of Carmel;
  • Above the tabernacle which also recalls that of Carmel: the icon of the Trinity.

The campanile

Left unfinished, the bell tower houses the 51 bells. The volley ring is made up of 6 bells, the largest of which, the bourdon (9 tons) bears its motto in bronze:"I sound the peoples' call for unity in Love"

Refrains are played every hour and change according to the liturgical periods.

The concert carillon in the bell tower of the basilica is a large Paccard carillon of 51 totally chromatic bells of great sound quality. Paccard is one of the most famous chime makers in the world.

A concert carillon like that of Lisieux, in the tradition of Flemish carillons, has a "manual" keyboard, each key of which is connected to the clapper of a bell; we therefore have one bell per note. The accuracy of the bells and the extent of the keyboard make it possible to play the entire repertoire written for the carillon or arranged from other works.

Thérèse's Elevator

The elevator is taken at the bottom of the North tower (left) of the Basilica and serves 4 levels: the square, the future Martin Chapel and the Crypt, the upper Basilica and the Dome. It allows access to the panoramic interior exterior of the Basilica and the passageways of the Dome located at a height of 80 meters. Visitors wishing to gain height will be able to take a closer look at the mosaics of the dome which represent Thérèse crowned in Heaven, flowers in hand, symbols of her small actions carried out with love. Now no need to climb the 205 steps to discover the surrounding landscape!

The elevator is currently out of service, we apologize for any inconvenience caused.

We should also point out that when the Bishop refuses Therese entry into Carmel because of her young age, she elevates her desire and decides to bring it to the highest authority of the Church: the Pope. A very fortuitous and symbolic circumstance, it is on her way to Rome that she will discover, in a large Parisian hotel, a prodigious invention: the elevator!

By the brilliant transposition that she makes of it into her spiritual life, this material event will nourish in Thérèse a conviction: filled with a remarkably modern inspiration and a daring tenderness, she will declare, full of hope:

“The elevator that must lift me up to Heaven are your arms, O Jesus! "(Ms C 3 r)

The "Bestiary" of the Basilica of Lisieux

The large stained-glass window in the north transept of the Basilica shows, in its lower part, four large symbols borrowed from the Christian bestiary. Building on a substrate of Latin culture and ancient legends, the Church knew how to use the language of pictorial symbols to her advantage: naturally "speaking" they were easy to memorize and understand by a majority of illiterate people at the time. . Let's look at them starting from the center.

The Deer, symbol of baptism

The deer is a symbol of the thirst of the soul which expects everything from God: "As a thirsty deer seeks living water, so my soul seeks you my God, my soul thirsts for the living God" (Ps 41-42) . The observation by the ancients of the fall and the regrowth of the antlers of the deer, quickly gave the animal the image of rebirth. In addition, legend claims that deer can kill snakes, and in order not to succumb to their bites, they drink clear water for days to purify themselves and be brought back to life.

Very quickly, the deer is identified by Christians with the catechumen, with his aspiration for baptism, the water of which will purify it from the “poison” of sin.

The Pelican, symbol of the Eucharist

This bird is very frequently found in churches, carved at the doors of tabernacles or in front of altars. According to legend, the pelican pierces its chest and its spouting blood feeds its young. What an extraordinary animal! Give his life for his children. “There is no greater proof of love than to lay down your life for those you love. »(Jn 15:13). The pelican, in Christian times, becomes a symbol of the Eucharist, of the Body and Blood of Christ given for the salvation of men.

The Eagle, symbol of contemplation

An eagle, with bright red plumage, is shown gazing at the sun. Ancient tradition claimed that the eagle could gaze into the sun without closing its eyes. Based on this observation, the eagle became the symbol of one who always remains in the presence of the Lord, never looking away, and whose soul rises above earthly things.

The Hen, symbol of the love that unites

Finally, the two stained glass windows at the ends show us a country scene: a little white hen surrounded by her chicks. Far from being more anecdotal than the previous animals, hen and chicks are first and foremost a sign of new life. But above all, the hen is a symbol of motherhood, watching over and protecting her young. She is able to brood until she forgot to eat and drink.

She shows constant care for her chicks and is ready to defend them to the death, constantly giggling to keep them from getting lost and to encourage them. Jesus himself spoke of the hen and compared himself to her when addressing Jerusalem:

“How many times have I wanted to gather your children like a hen gathers her chicks under her wings…” (Mt 23:37)

In the background of the stained glass windows showing the hen is a monument: we can easily recognize the Chapel of the Carmel of Lisieux. So there would be a link between this stained glass window of the hen and the life of Thérèse in Carmel? Sunday June 7, 1897. Thérèse has been ill for over a year, she has difficulty walking. She is plunged into the test of faith, not perceiving anything of the presence of God:

"The sky is so dark that I do not see any clearing" (CJ 27.5.6). However, "sometimes, it is true, a tiny ray of sunlight illuminates my darkness, so the ordeal ceases for a moment" (Ms C, 7v °)

On this Sunday in June, she takes a few steps with Sr Agnès de Jesus, her sister Pauline, in the garden of the monastery. Let Pauline tell the story: Going down the steps, she saw, on the right, under the medlar tree, the little white hen who had all her chicks under her wings. […] She paused thoughtfully to consider them. After a while, I waved to him that it was time to go home. Her eyes were full of tears.

I said to him: “You are crying! "Then she put her hand in front of her eyes, crying more and answered me:" I cannot tell you why at this moment; I am too moved… ”In the evening, in her cell, she said to me with a heavenly expression:“ I cried, thinking that the good Lord took this comparison to make us believe in his tenderness. All my life, that's what he has done for me! He completely hid me under his wings!… ”(CJ 7.6.1).

Le Chemin de Croix

Live on love, …..

With Jesus is to climb Calvary,

It is to regard the Cross as a treasure!…

Saint Therese (PN 17)

Let us think of the number of times the Lord has lifted us up and tell Him again of our trust in His merciful love.

Come and join us as a family, in teams, in small catechism groups to experience the Way of the Cross at the Basilica of Sainte Thérèse.

All year round, possibility of programming the Way of the Cross (for even small groups) at the bedside of the Basilica or at the Crypt depending on the weather.

Contact the reception at +02 31 48 21 ou info@therese-de-lisieux.com

Masses

15 p.m.
from monday to saturday
10 p.m.
Sunday
17 h
Sunday

L’idée d’ériger une basilique à Lisieux en l’honneur de celle qui venait d’être canonisée en 1925, rencontra bien des oppositions dans le clergé local. La ville possédait déjà de nombreux édifices religieux; on estimait d’autre part que le culte de Thérèse, favorisé par la piété des poilus durant la guerre de 1914-1918, n’aurait qu’un temps.

Ces objections n’ont pas arrêté l’évêque d’alors, Monseigneur Lemonnier. Dès 1925, il chargeait un architecte de Paris d’établir un avant-projet. Mais l’édifice proposé suscita de très nombreuses critiques ; à l’étranger notamment, on en trouvait les proportions exiguës et on estimait que, pour la Sainte la plus aimée du monde, il fallait la plus belle basilique possible.

On demanda alors un nouveau projet à un architecte du nord de la France, Monsieur Louis-Marie Cordonnier, dont la réputation était internationale.

Le Pape Pie XI, qui avait canonisé Thérèse le 17 mai 1925, la considérait comme l’Etoile de son pontificat. Il désirait vivement la construction à Lisieux d’un sanctuaire. Ce désir du Pape contribua à réduire les oppositions locales, et le 21 septembre 1927, Mgr Lemonnier approuvait le plan Cordonnier. Mgr Suhard, qui devait succéder à Mgr Lemonnier quelques mois plus tard, ne revint pas sur la décision de son prédécesseur, et les premiers travaux commencèrent en 1929.

Vue panoramique de la basilique

Le 30 septembre 1929, les travaux sont suffisamment avancés pour que la première pierre de l’édifice puisse être posée. Dès lors, la basilique se construit à un rythme accéléré.

En novembre 1929, Pie XI fait savoir à Mgr Suhard qu’il faut « faire très grand, très beau, et le plus vite possible ! »

  • superficie totale : 4 500 m2
  • hauteur du dôme : 90 m
  • longueur de la basilique : 104 m

Le 11 juillet 1937, au terme du onzième Congrès Eucharistique National, le Cardinal Pacelli, futur Pape Pie XII, procède à la bénédiction solennelle de la basilique.

La basilique a peu souffert des bombardements de juin 1944, et les travaux d’achèvement (vitraux et mosaïques) ont continué jusqu’au 11 juillet 1954, date à laquelle eut lieu la consécration du sanctuaire par Mgr Martin, archevêque de Rouen, sous la présidence du Cardinal Feltin, légat du Pape

La Basilique Supérieure

Les jours d’affluence, 3 000 pèlerins peuvent prendre place sur les bancs de la basilique et suivre sans difficulté les cérémonies qui se déroulent dans le sanctuaire : aucune colonne n’arrête le regard.

Les autres jours, les pèlerins aiment s’attarder sur les mosaïques et les vitraux qui ont été réalisés dans les ateliers de Pierre Gaudin (1908-1973), un artiste formé dans les ateliers d’art sacré dirigés par Maurice Denis et Georges Desvallières. A leur école, Pierre Gaudin a retrouvé la grande tradition des maîtres-verriers du Moyen Âge : jouer avec la couleur des vitraux pour créer une lumière qui favorise le recueillement… Il suffit qu’il y ait un peu de soleil pour que les vitraux de Pierre Gaudin donnent à la basilique une ambiance particulièrement chaleureuse. Néanmoins, sous l’influence de l’abbé Germain, premier recteur du sanctuaire, l’artiste ne céda point à son attirance pour l’art abstrait : sans faire de ses vitraux des tableaux de verre (comme les verriers du XIXe siècle), il conçut un projet figuratif, donnant ainsi à tous les pèlerins la possibilité de découvrir, à travers son œuvre, l’essentiel du message de Thérèse.

La Basilique Inférieure ou crypte

La crypte est entièrement recouverte de marbre et de mosaïques.

En 1958, la décoration fut complétée par la pose de cinq mosaïques représentant les étapes importantes de la vie de Thérèse : le baptême de Marie Françoise Thérèse Martin à l’église Notre-Dame d’Alençon, le 4 janvier 1873 ; la première communion de Thérèse à l’abbaye bénédictine de Lisieux, le 8 mai 1884 ; la guérison miraculeuse de Thérèse aux Buissonnets en la fête de Pentecôte, le 13 mai 1883 ; la profession de Thérèse, le 8 septembre 1890 ; la mort de Thérèse, le 30 septembre 1897.

La crypte abrite le reliquaire des Bienheureux Louis et Zélie Martin, parents de sainte Thérèse.

Crypte 2

La chapelle d’adoration

Si une église est faite pour la participation à la liturgie, elle est aussi faite pour le recueillement. La chapelle d’adoration dont l’accès se fait par la crypte, permet de prier dans le silence et la paix.

  • Le mur de droite est celui de la crypte dont les arcades de granit rappellent que l’on se trouve toujours dans la Basilique ;
  • Les bancs sont ceux que l’on a connus naguère dans la chapelle du Carmel ;
  • L’autel est taillé sur le même modèle que celui du Carmel ;
  • Au-dessus du tabernacle qui rappelle également celui du Carmel : l’icône de la Trinité.

Le campanile

Resté inachevé, le campanile abrite les 51 cloches. La sonnerie de volée est composée de 6 cloches dont la plus grosse, le bourdon (9 tonnes) porte sa devise en bronze :« Je sonne l’appel des peuples à l’unité dans l’Amour »

Des ritournelles sont jouées aux heures et changent selon les périodes liturgiques.

Le carillon de concert dans le campanile de la basilique est un grand carillon Paccard de 51 cloches totalement chromatique et d’une grande qualité sonore. Paccard est un des facteurs de carillons les plus réputés dans le monde.

Un carillon de concert comme celui de Lisieux, dans la tradition des carillons flamands, a un clavier « manuel » dont chaque touche est reliée au battant d’une cloche ; on a donc une cloche par note. La justesse des cloches et l’étendue du clavier permettent de jouer tout le répertoire écrit pour le carillon ou arrangé à partir d’autres œuvres.

L’Ascenseur de Thérèse

L’ascenseur se prend en bas de la tour Nord (gauche) de la Basilique et dessert 4 niveaux : le parvis, la future Chapelle Martin et la Crypte, la Basilique supérieure et le Dôme. Il permet l’accès au panoramique intérieur extérieur de la Basilique et aux coursives du Dôme situées à une hauteur de 80 mètres. Les visiteurs désireux de prendre de la hauteur pourront découvrir de plus près les mosaïques de la coupole qui représentent Thérèse couronnée au Ciel, des fleurs à la main, symboles de ses petites actions accomplies avec amour. Désormais plus besoin de gravir les 205 marches pour découvrir le paysage environnant !

En accès libre, l’ascenseur peut accueillir jusqu’à 50 personnes à la fois.

Précisons d’ailleurs que lorsque l’Evêque refuse à Thérèse l’entrée au Carmel en raison de son jeune âge, elle élève son désir et décide de le porter à la plus haute autorité de l’Eglise : le Pape. Circonstance ô combien fortuite et symbolique, c’est en route pour Rome qu’elle fera, dans un grand hôtel parisien, la découverte d’une invention prodigieuse : l’ascenseur !

Par la transposition géniale qu’elle en fait dans sa vie spirituelle, cet événement matériel va nourrir en Thérèse une conviction : remplie d’une inspiration remarquablement moderne et d’une audacieuse tendresse, elle déclarera, pleine d’espérance :

« l’ascenseur qui doit m’élever jusqu’au Ciel, ce sont vos bras, ô Jésus ! » (Ms C 3 r)

Le « Bestiaire » de la Basilique de Lisieux

Le grand vitrail du transept nord de la Basilique montre, dans sa partie basse, quatre grands symboles empruntés au bestiaire chrétien. Se construisant sur un substrat de culture latine et de légendes antiques, l’Eglise a su utiliser à son profit le langage des symboles imagés : naturellement « parlants » ils étaient faciles à mémoriser et à comprendre par une majorité de gens illettrés à l’époque. Regardons-les en commençant par le centre.

Le Cerf, symbole du baptême

Le cerf est symbole de la soif de l’âme qui attend tout de Dieu : « Comme un cerf altéré cherche l’eau vive, ainsi mon âme te cherche mon Dieu, mon âme a soif du Dieu vivant » (Ps 41-42). L’observation par les anciens de la chute et de la repousse des bois du cerf, a bien vite donné à l’animal l’image de la renaissance. De plus, la légende affirme que le cerf peut tuer les serpents et que, pour ne pas succomber à leurs morsures, il boit pendant des jours de l’eau claire pour se purifier et être rendu pleinement à la vie.

Très vite, le cerf est identifié par les chrétiens au catéchumène, à son aspiration au baptême dont l’eau va le purifier du « venin » du péché.

Le Pélican, symbole de l’eucharistie

Cet oiseau se trouve très fréquemment dans les églises, sculpté aux portes des tabernacles ou au-devant des autels. Selon la légende le pélican se percerait la poitrine et son sang jaillissant nourrirait ses petits. Quel animal extraordinaire ! Donner sa vie pour ses enfants. « Il n’y a pas de plus grande preuve d’amour que de donner sa vie pour ceux qu’on aime. » (Jn 15, 13). Le pélican, à l’heure chrétienne, devient symbole de l’Eucharistie, du Corps et du Sang du Christ donnés pour le Salut des hommes.

L’Aigle, symbole de la contemplation

Un aigle, au plumage d’un rouge lumineux, est représenté regardant le soleil. La tradition antique prétendait que l’aigle pouvait fixer le soleil sans fermer les yeux. Partant de ce constat, l’aigle devint le symbole de celui qui demeure toujours en présence du Seigneur, n’en détournant jamais le regard, et dont l’âme s’élève au-dessus des choses terrestres.

La Poule, symbole de l’amour qui rassemble

Enfin, les deux vitraux des extrémités nous montrent une scène champêtre : une petite poule, blanche, entourée de ses poussins. Loin d’être plus anecdotiques que les précédents animaux, poule et poussins sont premièrement signe de vie nouvelle. Mais surtout, la poule est symbole de maternité, veillant et protégeant ses petits. Elle est capable de couver jusqu’à en oublier de boire et de manger.

Elle fait preuve d’une attention constante pour ses poussins et est prête à les défendre jusqu’à la mort, gloussant sans cesse pour leur éviter de se perdre et pour les encourager. Jésus lui-même a parlé de la poule et s’est comparé à elle en s’adressant à Jérusalem :

« Combien de fois ai-je voulu rassembler tes enfants comme une poule rassemble ses poussins sous ses ailes… » (Mt 23, 37)

En arrière-plan des vitraux montrant la poule figure un monument : on reconnaît très bien la chapelle du Carmel de Lisieux. Il y aurait donc un lien entre ce vitrail de la poule et la vie de Thérèse au Carmel ? Dimanche 7 juin 1897. Thérèse est malade depuis plus d’un an, elle marche difficilement. Elle est plongée dans l’épreuve de la foi, ne percevant rien de la présence de Dieu :

« Le ciel est tellement noir que je ne vois aucune éclaircie » (CJ 27.5.6). Cependant, « parfois, il est vrai, un tout petit rayon de soleil vient illuminer mes ténèbres, alors l’épreuve cesse un instant » (Ms C, 7v°)

En ce dimanche de juin, elle fait quelques pas avec Sr Agnès de Jésus, sa sœur Pauline, dans le jardin du monastère. Laissons Pauline raconter : En descendant les marches, elle vit, à droite, sous le néflier, la petite poule blanche qui avait tous ses poussins sous ses ailes. […] Elle s’arrêta toute pensive à les considérer. Au bout d’un moment, je lui fis signe qu’il était temps de rentrer. Elle avait les yeux pleins de larmes.

Je lui dis : « Vous pleurez ! » Alors elle mit sa main devant ses yeux en pleurant davantage et me répondit : «Je ne puis pas vous dire pourquoi en ce moment ; je suis trop émue… » Le soir, dans sa cellule, elle me dit avec une expression céleste : «J’ai pleuré en pensant que le bon Dieu a pris cette comparaison pour nous faire croire à sa tendresse. Toute ma vie, c’est cela qu’il a fait pour moi ! Il m’a entièrement cachée sous ses ailes!…» (CJ 7.6.1).

Ouverture de la Basilique

  • du 1er novembre au 31 mars : 9h-17h30
  • du 1er avril au 31 octobre : 9h-19h

Centre Saint Jean-Paul II

  • Novembre à mars : 9h30-17h15
  • Avril à juin puis septembre et octobre : 9h-18h15
  • Juillet et août : 9h-18h45

Messes

15h30
du lundi au samedi
10h30
dimanche
17h
Dimanche